Chipstead Sailing Club

Chipstead Sailing Club Radio Sailing DF95 PETER CURL TROPHY

Monday 1st July 2019

This trophy is to recognise the superb work done by Peter in getting the Radio Sailing section up and running and incorporated into Chipstead Sailing Club.

Fourteen club sailors turned out to compete on a nice sunny and breezy Monday morning. The race team for the event were provided by the Radio IOM fleet.

The breeze was a classic Chipstead 8mph gusting 15mph from the North West, but varying twenty degree either way depending on the gusts or lulls rolling across the race course.

The course laid was a windward leeward course with an offset finish line near the top of the windward leg.

Racing commence promptly at 10;00am with three boats breaking away led by Mike Keyte John Nash and David Andrews. Following a brief tuning break racing recommenced with John Caruana setting a pace which was too hot for anyone else to match. Race three saw John Nash win closely pursued by John Caruana and Mike Keyte. Race four had another new leader in David Marten closely pursued by long term Chipstead dinghy sailor Michael Baxter. Michael has just started in radio sailing and is thoroughly enjoying himself.

Races continued steadily through the morning with the breeze shifting around, but never enough to warrant a course change. The starts were good with only the few being called for being on course side, the contact infringements were called and turns were enacted.

Twelve races were sailed by midday with five different winners, but at the end of the session the most consistent sailor always wins the day. The best ten races for each sailor were counted for their result

That honour went to David Andrews who managed to bring home five first places, two second and three third places. He was chased home by Mike Keyte who was very closely followed by John Caruana. Barry Martin and David Marten rounded off places four and five.

David Andrews being presented with the Peter Curl Trophy by Dave Allinson Class Captain

Well done to all the sailors who turned out for a great morning sailing. Results were calculated and prizes presented in the club car park.

Full individual race results can be found on the club website. Overall places were as follows:

  1. David Andrews
  2. Mike Keyte
  3. John Caruana
  4. Barry Martin
  5. David Marten
  6. Carl Targett
  7. William Grant
  8. Stuart Ordhume
  9. Robin Aldcroft
  10. John Nash
  11. N Charman
  12. Michael Baxter
  13. Roz Jackson
  14. John Ellis